A Guide To Chakra Stones

Originating in an ancient Indian text called the Vedas, Chakras are now a staple in holistic medicine practices. Since their origin around 1500 BC, chakras have been used to align the energies of the body, mind, and spirit. Through the ancient practice of chakra alignment and energy healing, you can achieve great things. Learn more about the powerful history of chakras and how you can use crystals to further enhance the benefits of this practice.

What are Chakras?

The word chakra originates from ‘cakra’, a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel”. You can think of your chakras as small, spinning wheels or disks of energy that are positioned throughout the body. These wheels connect to different areas of the body, like the organs and nerves, through their energy. Tapping into the natural energy points within the body can help influence the well-being of your body and mind.

The seven main chakras run along your spine from the crown of your head to your tailbone. Every chakra has different meanings, colors, and elements associated with them, as well. 

 The main seven chakras include: 

  • Root Chakra
  • Sacral Chakra
  • Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Heart Chakra
  • Throat Chakra
  • Third Eye Chakra
  • Crown Chakra

How to Cleanse Chakras

Chakra energy is constantly flowing within the body, but sometimes it gets blocked. Blockages happen from many different reasons including fatigue, stress, or even lack of self care. Through chakra energy cleansing, you can start to open up these blockages and heal your mind and body.

One of the easiest ways to start your chakra healing journey is with the use of natural gemstones and crystals. Crystals have many metaphysical properties that help to raise vibrational energy, cleanse negative energy, and heal emotional blockages. Using crystals alongside chakra meditations boosts the abilities of the chakras and optimizes their work throughout the body and mind.

We’ve created a basic template of what each chakra does, as well as the benefits of their corresponding crystals. Use the guide below to start on your chakra healing journey to balance your energy and life. 

Chakra Meanings and their Corresponding Crystals

The Root Chakra

The root chakra, or Muladhara, rests at the base of the tailbone area. This chakra is connected to our foundation and gives us a sense of feeling grounded. Whether in our bodies, minds, or spirits, instability can decrease our confidence and stunt growth. Healing the root chakra helps increase the confidence we need to face new challenges.

Associations: the color red, Earth

Root Chakra Crystal: Red Jasper

Known as the warrior’s stone, red jasper can help instill confidence and courage. While laying in a meditative position, rest your red jasper crystal on the ground between your inner thighs. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I Am.

The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra, or Swadhisthana, rests near the lower abdomen area near the sexual organs. This chakra is connected to our sexual energy and emotions. A blocked sacral chakra can decrease sexual well-being and put our emotions into disarray. Healing the sacral chakra helps increase communication with ourselves and others so we experience more freedom and pleasure. 

Associations: the color orange, Water

Sacral Chakra Crystal: Carnelian

Known as the artist’s stone, carnelian can help instill creative energy, love, and passion. While laying in a meditative position, rest your carnelian crystal on your lower stomach below your belly button and between your hip bones. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I Feel.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or Maipura, rests near the upper abdomen area below the ribs. This chakra is connected to our self-esteem. Shame and doubt can be overwhelming and harmful feelings. Healing the solar plexus chakra clears these negative emotions and helps instill confident expressions of self-worth both internally and externally.

Associations: the color yellow, Fire

Solar Plexus Crystal: Yellow Quartz

Yellow quartz is a protective stone that removes negative energy while instilling power and self-confidence. While laying in a meditative position, rest your yellow quartz between your belly button and lower ribs. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I Do.

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra, or Anahata, rests at the base of the sternum near the heart. This chakra is connected to heart healing and love. A blocked heart chakra not only inhibits our ability to give love, but to receive it. Healing the heart chakra helps us to strengthen bonds with our loved ones and ourselves by opening up to receiving and giving love and compassion.

Associations: the color green, Air

Heart Chakra Crystal: Green Aventurine

A stone of luck, green aventurine can help balance emotions while instilling purpose. While laying in a meditative position, rest your green aventurine in the middle of your chest near the sternum. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I Love.

The Throat Chakra

The throat chakra, or Vishudda, rests at the base of the throat. This chakra is connected to our personal power. When the energy of the throat chakra is cut off, it inhibits our ability to express ourselves and communicate our needs clearly. Healing the throat chakra increases communication and helps us speak our truths.

Associations: the color blue, Sound

Throat Chakra Crystal: Lapis Lazuli

An ancient gemstone, lapis lazuli helps protect from negative energy while instilling inner peace. While laying in a meditative position, rest your lapis lazuli at the base of your throat or on the ground beside your throat. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I Speak.

The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra, or Ajna, rests on the “third eye” between the eyebrows. This chakra is connected to our intuition. Without proper intuition, we are unable to connect to the bigger picture around us. Healing the third eye chakra helps us use our natural intuitive abilities to sense thoughts, feelings, and intentions around us.

Associations: the color purple, Light

Third-Eye Chakra Crystal: Labradorite

A very spiritual stone, labradorite helps you connect with your inner self. This stone also helps instill balance and keeps you grounded during meditation. While laying in a meditative position, rest your labradorite on your forehead between the eyebrows. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I See. 

The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, rests at the “crown” of the head. This chakra is connected to our spirituality. Tapping into the energy of the crown chakra helps us achieve a higher spiritual understanding. Healing the crown chakra also leads us to the goal of Divine Consciousness, a concept of full awareness of ourselves, the world, and what’s beyond.

Associations: the color white, Spirit

Crown Chakra Crystal: Amethyst

A type of quartz, amethyst is a cleansing stone that is linked to the divine. Use this stone to instill serenity, intuitive thinking, and higher meaning.While laying in a meditative position, rest your amethyst on the ground directly above your head. Focus on this mantra during your meditation: I Understand.


Disclaimer: Gemstones should be used in conjunction with regular medical treatment. For health related issues, seek the help of a professional.


Sacred Wellness 
Gem Coach 

Web Master
Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart